Where are Canada's volcanoes?

Mount Garibaldi
Mount Garibaldi

Mount Garibaldi, viewed from the southwest, near the town of Squamish.

Many Canadians are unaware that western Canada lies along the Pacific “Ring of Fire” and has active volcanoes. In fact, there have been at least 49 volcanic eruptions in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory during the last 10,000 years. The forces that produced these volcanoes are still active, and some of them will erupt again, although we don’t know when

Mount Meager
Mount Meager

Mount Meager viewed from the southeast, near the town of Pemberton. Image by Paul Adam.

Mounts Garibaldi, Cayley, and Meager are three well-known examples in southwest British Columbia, but there are many others, including Nazko, Tseax, Lava Fork, Hoodoo, Volcano Mountain, and Edziza, all in more remote areas. Nearby volcanoes in Alaska and the western United States may also affect Canada. (Mount Baker, Washington, is the American volcano that poses the greatest hazard to Canada because it is only 23 km south of the Canadian border and is located close to the large population centres of southwest British Columbia.) The most recent eruption in Canada took place at Lava Fork in northwestern B.C. about 150 years ago. The last big explosive eruption in Canada took place 2350 years ago at Mount Meager, and the ash layer from this eruption can still be found as far away as Alberta.

image of young volcanoes in Western Canada
Canadian volcanoes that have erupted in the last 1.8 million years

Canada has five potentially active volcanic areas, all of which are located in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory:

  1. the Garibaldi Volcanic Belt of southwest British Columbia (the northern extension of the American Cascade Arc)
  2. the Wells Gray-Clearwater volcanic field of east central British Columbia
  3. the Northern Cordilleran volcanic province of northwest British Columbia (sometimes referred to as the Stikine Volcanic Belt)
  4. the Anahim Volcanic Belt of central British Columbia, and
  5. the Wrangell Volcanic Belt of Alaska and adjacent Yukon Territory.

A region may be volcanically quiet for centuries or even millennia, but a century is brief in geologic time — these volcanic areas all have the potential for future eruptions.

Eve cone
Eve cone. Image by Alice Purdey.

Eve cone, a young cinder cone formed about 1300 years ago, at the Mount Edziza volcanic field in northwest British Columbia’s Northern Cordilleran Volcanic Province.

White River ash
The White River Ash. Image by Jeff Bond, Yukon Geological Survey.

The White River Ash, the product of a huge explosive eruption near Mount Churchill in eastern Alaska about 1250 years ago. Here it is shown at Toshingermann Lakes in the southwest Yukon, about 130 km from the volcano. This ash layer represents a massive eruption: the eastern lobe of the White River Ash extends across the Yukon and much of the Northwest Territories. In Canada, it is detectable as a visible layer as far east as Great Slave Lake and as microscopic glass shards all the way across the country, in Newfoundland. It has also been identified in Ireland and northern Europe.

Où sont les volcans du Canada?

Mont Garibaldi
Mont Garibaldi

Mont Garibaldi, vu du sud-ouest, près de la ville de Squamish.

Beaucoup de Canadiens ignorent que l’ouest du Canada se trouve le long de la « ceinture de feu du Pacifique » et compte de nombreux volcans actifs. En fait, il y a eu au moins 49 éruptions volcaniques en Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon au cours des 10 000 dernières années. Les forces qui ont produit ces volcans sont toujours actives, et certains d’entre eux feront éruption de nouveau, bien que nous ne sachions pas à quel moment.

Mont Meager
Mont Meager

Mont Meager vu du sud-est, près de la ville de Pemberton. Photo : Paul Adam

Les monts Garibaldi, Cayley et Meager sont trois exemples bien connus dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, mais il en existe de nombreux autres, notamment les volcans Nazko, Tseax, Lava Fork, Hoodoo, Volcano Mountain et Edziza, tous situés dans des régions plus éloignées. Les volcans avoisinants en Alaska et dans l’ouest des États-Unis peuvent également affecter le Canada. (Le mont Baker, dans l’État de Washington, est le volcan américain qui pose le plus grand risque pour le Canada, car il est situé à seulement 23 km au sud de la frontière américaine et à proximité des agglomérations du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.) L’éruption la plus récente au Canada a eu lieu à Lava Fork dans le nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, il y a environ 150 ans. La plus récente éruption explosive d’importance a eu lieu il y a environ 2350 ans au mont Meager et la couche de cendres volcaniques provenant de cette éruption peut encore être observée de nos jours aussi loin qu’en Alberta.

jeunes volcans de l'ouest du Canada
Volcans canadiens qui ont fait éruption depuis 1,8 million d’années.

Le Canada compte cinq zones susceptibles de présenter de l’activité volcanique. Ces zones se situent toutes en Colombie-Britannique et au Yukon :

  1. la ceinture volcanique de Garibaldi dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique (le prolongement vers le nord de l’arc volcanique des Cascades américain);
  2. le champ volcanique de Wells Gray – Clearwater dans la partie centrale est de la Colombie-Britannique;
  3. la province volcanique de la Cordillère du Nord (parfois dénommée la ceinture volcanique de Stikine) au nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique;
  4. la ceinture volcanique d’Anahim dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique;
  5. la ceinture volcanique de Wrangell en Alaska et dans le territoire adjacent du Yukon.

L’activité volcanique d’une région peut être au repos pendant des siècles, voire des millénaires, mais à l’échelle des temps géologiques, un siècle est une brève période – de futures éruptions sont toujours possibles dans toutes ces zones.

Le cône Eve
Le cône Eve. Photo : Alice Purdey.

Le cône Eve, un jeune cône de scories qui s’est formé il y a environ 1300 ans, au champ volcanique du mont Edziza dans la province volcanique de la Cordillère du Nord, dans le nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les Cendres de White River
Les Cendres de White River. Photo : Jeff Bond, Commission géologique du Yukon.

Les Cendres de White River, le produit d’une énorme éruption explosive près du mont Churchill dans l’est de l’Alaska, il y a environ 1250 ans. On les voit ici aux lacs Toshingermann dans le sud-ouest du Yukon, à environ 130 km du volcan. Cette couche de cendres représente une éruption massive : le lobe oriental des Cendres de White River s’étend à travers le Yukon et une grande partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Au Canada, la couche est visible aussi loin que le Grand lac des Esclaves et l’on peut également détecter des éclats de verre microscopiques à travers tout le pays, jusqu’à Terre-Neuve. Elle a également été observée en Irlande et en Europe du Nord.