What are the special hazards from volcanic ash?

eruption of Mount St. Helens
Mount St. Helens erupting

The May 18, 1980 eruption of Mount St. Helens. A massive ash plume was sent high into the atmosphere. Wind blew 520 million tons of ash eastward across the United States and caused complete darkness in Spokane, Washington, 400 km from the volcano. United States Geological Survey image by Robert Krimmel.

Most volcanic hazards affect only those regions within a few kilometres of a volcano. Volcanic ash, however, may affect regions thousands of kilometres from its source. This means that Canada might be impacted by ash from distant volcanic eruptions, especially eruptions in Alaska or Washington. Volcanic ash is unlike the soft ash produced by burning wood: it is hard, abrasive, slightly corrosive and electrically charged, and it does not dissolve in water.

Ash from Mount St. Helens
Ash from Mount St. Helens

Ash from Mount St. Helens, erupted May 18, 1980, collected 39 km downwind. United States Geological Survey image by D. Weiprecht.

Ash poses a serious threat to aircraft because it can abrade surfaces, can contaminate openings, and can be sucked into jet engines and melted, causing severe damage. On or near the ground, volcanic ash can reduce visibility, make surfaces slippery, cause roofs to collapse, damage crops and wild plants, clog ventilation systems, corrode metal, contaminate water supplies, irritate or damage eyes, and pose a health risk to people with respiratory problems.

volcanic ash
Ash from Pavlof volcano

Ash collected from Pavlof volcano, Alaska, 2013. 50 μm equals 0.05 mm. United States Geological Survey/ Alaska Volcano Observatory image by Kristi Wallace.

Cleanup of volcanic ash can be tedious, time-consuming, and expensive. If a large explosive eruption occurred in or near Canada, air travel disruptions would be likely, even in areas where no ash was deposited on the ground, as was the case during the 2010 eruption of Eyjafjallajökull in Iceland.

Frosting of aircraft window by volcanic ash
Aircraft window frosted by volcanic ash

Frosting of aircraft window by volcanic ash: the cockpit window of the KLM B747 airplane that encountered the ash cloud from Mount Redoubt, Alaska in December 1989. (Image by René Servranckx, Environment Canada)

The Interagency Volcanic Event Notification Plan (IVENP) ensures rapid and effective communication of information to the aviation community (and other key agencies) about the sudden onset of volcanic eruptions within or near Canada.

Vehicle covered in ash and snow
Vehicle covered in ash

Vehicle covered in ash and snow at Seldovia, Alaska, from an eruption of Redoubt volcano on April 4, 2009. United States Geological Survey/ Alaska Volcano Observatory image by Kristi Wallace

Worldwide, nine Volcanic Ash Advisory Centres (VAACs) monitor volcanic ash plumes and use computer models to predict where ash will go. Environment Canada’s Montreal Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre deals with volcanic ash hazards in Canadian airspace.

Quels sont les risques particuliers associés aux cendres volcaniques?

L’éruption du mont St. Helens
L’éruption du mont St. Helens

L’éruption du mont St. Helens le 18 mai 1980. Un panache de cendres volcaniques massif a été envoyé haut dans l’atmosphère. Le vent soufflait 520 millions de tonnes de cendres vers l’est à travers les États-Unis et provoquait l’obscurité totale à Spokane (État de Washington), à 400 km du volcan. Photo : Robert Krimmel, United States Geological Survey.

La plupart des risques volcaniques affectent seulement les régions à quelques kilomètres d’un volcan. Les cendres volcaniques, cependant, peuvent affecter des régions sur des milliers de kilomètres de leur source. Cela signifie que le Canada pourrait être affecté par les cendres d’éruptions volcaniques lointaines, notamment les éruptions en Alaska ou dans l’État de Washington. Contrairement à la cendre fine produite par la combustion du bois, la cendre volcanique est dure, abrasive, légèrement corrosive, chargée électriquement et ne se dissout pas dans l’eau.

Cendre volcanique du mont St. Helens
Cendre volcanique du mont St. Helens

Cendre volcanique du mont St. Helens, le 18 mai 1980, recueillie à 39 km sous le vent. Photo : D. Weiprecht, United States Geological Survey.

Les cendres volcaniques constituent une grave menace pour les avions, car elles peuvent abraser leurs surfaces, elles peuvent contaminer les ouvertures et elles peuvent être aspirées et fondues par les moteurs à réaction, causant de graves dommages. Sur le sol ou à proximité, les cendres volcaniques peuvent réduire la visibilité, rendre les surfaces glissantes, provoquer l’effondrement de toits, endommager les cultures et les plantes sauvages, obstruer les systèmes de ventilation, corroder le métal, contaminer les réserves d’eau, irriter ou endommager les yeux et poser un risque aux personnes avec des problèmes respiratoires.

Cendre volcanique
Cendre volcanique recueillie au volcan Pavlof

Cendre volcanique recueillie au volcan Pavlof, en Alaska, 2013 (50 μm équivaut à 0,05 mm). Photo : Kristi Wallace, United States Geological Survey / Alaska Volcano Observatory.

Le nettoyage de cendres volcaniques peut être fastidieux, chronophage et coûteux. Si une importante éruption explosive se produisait au Canada, ou près du Canada, les perturbations du transport aérien seraient probables, même dans des zones où aucune retombée de cendres au sol n’a eu lieu, comme ce fut le cas pendant l’éruption du volcan Eyjafjallajökull (Islande) en 2010.

Dépolissage d’un hublot d’aéronef par la cendre volcanique
Dépolissage d’un hublot d’aéronef par la cendre volcanique

Dépolissage d’un hublot d’aéronef par la cendre volcanique : hublot du poste de pilotage de l’appareil KLM B747 qui a rencontré le nuage de cendres provenant du mont Redoubt (Alaska) en décembre 1989. Photo : R. Servranckx, Environnement Canada.

Le Plan inter-agences d’avis d’événement volcanique (IVENP) assure une communication rapide et efficace de l’information à la communauté de l’aviation (et à d’autres agences clés) concernant l’apparition soudaine d’éruptions volcaniques à l’intérieur ou près du Canada.

Véhicule couvert de cendres et de neige
Véhicule couvert de cendres

Véhicule couvert de cendres et de neige à Seldovia (Alaska), à la suite d’une éruption du volcan Redoubt, le 4 avril 2009. Photo : Kristi Wallace, United States Geological Survey / Alaska Volcano Observatory.

Mondialement, neuf centres d’avis de cendres volcaniques (VAACs) surveillent les panaches de cendres volcaniques et utilisent des modèles informatiques pour prédire où les cendres se déposeront. Le Centres d’avis de cendres volcaniques de Montréal d’Environnement Canada traite des risques de cendres volcaniques dans l’espace aérien canadien.